What are you thinking?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (Rated: 1.00/5)
Loading...Loading...

Facebook is engaged in limited testing of a new feature known as the Happening Now sidebar and the beta sidebar alerts offers comprehensive status updates in real-time, including what their friends are sharing, who they are friending, along with other status updates in real-time.The Happening Now toolbar sits to the right of a user’s newsfeed and scrolls through updates in real-time, automatically refreshing and emphasized by past previously launched features like real-time commenting…………

 

Facebook is currently testing a new version of the news feed that displays liking and commenting activity by a user’s friends in real time and it’s odd that it would show up directly next to the most recent feed. Docked to the right hand side of the screen, it displays real-time updates from your friends, such as wall posts, comments and check-in information, allowing users to see how their friends are interacting with one another all from the main screen. However, users have taken to Twitter to blow the whistle on a major bug with the feature not fully rolled out to the 700 million users, involving friends permissions.

 

European regulators are looking into Facebook’s method of delivery on the facial recognition features made available to users on Tuesday. Three users, @dezinezync, @benjacob and @hackatac who discovered the bug, explained to me on Twitter the implications:

“Say a user’s photos are viewable to friends only, and this user is not in my friends list. If a friend of mine comments on the photo of that user, I can see it from the ‘Happening Now’ feed.”

 

There appears to be a permissions error where those who are not in their friends list can see photos of people, even though the album is restricted to who can see it. Effectively, if your Facebook privacy settings are not locked down, it’s a “wild west scene for all to see”, another discovering user described. For now, you can limit this bug by setting your permissions on Facebook to ‘friends only’, as it is unclear how far this bug spreads, or whether it goes beyond photos only. Facebook told The Next Web:

“We are currently testing a feature within the news feed that gives people the ability to see what their friends are commenting on and liking, as these actions are being taken on Facebook.

This test includes a small percentage of Facebook users, just a fraction of a percent. In the coming weeks, as we learn more from this test, we’ll keep making improvements and may expand it to more people.”

 

While this is not yet a fully rolled-out feature only featuring on a select number of profiles this permissions error is indicative of a permissions error which could fall deeper into the site. Spokesperson Jaime Schopflin told me that Facebook refutes this ‘bug’, and that “this is how photos work”. “When a person tags their friend in a photo, the photo is posted to their friend’s Wall where their friends can see it.” Users can disable this feature by unchecking the “Let friends of people tagged in my photos and posts see them” option in the main Facebook privacy settings.

 

Via

Buy Cheapest Related Product From Amazon.com


Ricoh New PX Series Waterproof Camera

Panasonic Toughbook 19 On the Way Of Updated And Upgraded
You can also press the left/right arrow key on your keyboard to go to previous/next post
  On June 12, 2011(3 years, 6 months ago.)

Recent Products

Buy Now | Compare  
Buy Now | Compare  
Buy Now | Compare  
Buy Now | Compare  
Compare  

What Do You Think?

Loading Disqus Comments ...
Loading Facebook Comments ...

Recent Search

Recent Tutorials

Many users are already complaining and searching for the tips of how to capture the screenshot on LG G3. The tutorial will help to do that.
The tutorial will help how you can minimize the mobile data on your android device (Here we used LG G3 S for the tutorial)
The tutorial will help you to turn on battery Saver for LG G3 or G3 S both manually and automatically.
This tutorial is about how you can set up various auto reply messages on LG G3 S tp know the caller why you could not answer the call.
This tutorial is about disabling automatic shortcut creation of new installed app on android devices.
This tutorial is about showing you how to turn off location in Facebook of your Android devices.
My tutorial is for those who wants to delete those history partially or fully or to disable those if they want.
This tutorial will show you how to stop those videos in your Android mobile not to play automatically.
This tutorial will help you to Disable Auto-Update Of Android Apps in your Android Device. The steps are quite easy to execute.
This tutorial will help you to clear search history from your Google Play Store in your Android Device. The steps are quite easy to execute.
Close You Have To Login
User:
Pass:
Login With »Login With TwitterLogin With Facebook