Technological News Portal

The Dragon Has Landed!

Yes, The Dragon Has Landed. First private spacecraft by SpaceX’s has returned to earth at this morning, at approximately 8:42 AM Pacific/11:42 AM Eastern safely in the Pacific. After a successful mission to ISS started on 22nd May Dragon has landed.


SpaceX officially announced just few minute ago. Its a very historic moment. The first private funded spacecraft, successfully completed its mission. The SpaceX Dragon capsule has made a water landing off the coast of Baja California, Mexico at 11:42 a.m. EDT (1542 GMT). Recovery ships have already spotted the capsule and are en route to collect the vehicle to tow to Los Angeles.

Here is official statement by SpaceX.

The Dragon Has Landed

SpaceX’s Dragon Spacecraft Safely Completes Historic Mission to the Space Station

This morning, at approximately 8:42 AM Pacific/11:42 AM Eastern, Space Exploration Technologies (SpaceX) completed its historic mission when the Dragon spacecraft splashed down safely in the Pacific. The vehicle will now be recovered by boats and start the trip back to land.

At 11:00 AM Pacific/2:00 PM Eastern, SpaceX CEO and Chief Designer Elon Musk will join NASA Space Station Program Manager Mike Suffredini and NASA COTS Program Manager Alan Lindenmoyer for a press conference to discuss today’s exciting events.

Last week, SpaceX made history when its Dragon spacecraft became the first commercial vehicle in history to successfully attach to the International Space Station. Previously only four governments – the United States, Russia, Japan and the European Space Agency – had achieved this challenging technical feat. Dragon departed the space station this morning.

This is SpaceX’s second demonstration flight under a 2006 Commercial Orbital Transportation Services (COTS) agreement with NASA to develop the capability to carry cargo to and from the International Space Station.

More Image:

More DetailsSpace.com

Image Credit: AP

Source: SpaceX

You might also like
Why Not Join 250,000+ Readers, Like You!
AND GET OUR LATEST CONTENT IN YOUR INBOX

SUBSCRIBE 
Your information will never be shared
close-link