Facebook has reportedly fixed its new privacy loophole according to ZDNet. It has addressed the issue within 48 hours as per its claim.

What are you thinking?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (Rate This)
Loading...Loading...

Online stalking is really scary and no different than any other form of stalking. A lot of the users who are online stalkers would not only just stalk a Facebook profile of someone whom they happen to know but do not interact otherwise, but they do so to anyone whom they have never even met. Facebook has been facing a lot of issues regarding its online privacy policies and failure at some points not to make users feel safe.


But now Facebook has reportedly fixed its new privacy loophole according to ZDNet. It has addressed the issue within 48 hours as per its claim. Being the world’s largest social networking site, it is important for Facebook to look into these issues themselves rather than being informed by some other researchers who had happened to pick up their loopholes. Wonder what other loopholes are still might be in their system!

The privacy loophole was actually pointed out by the computer scientists from the University College London who noticed the ongoing profile stalking which is not easily detectable. It means a user would not know that they have been stalked and his or her profile viewed. Thus, without detection there could not even be a stopping to it.

To address the issue, the researchers did two things to tackle Facebook’s systemic flaws. First it allowed users to deactivate and reactivate their accounts in an unlimited way and secondly, since an account being deactivated, the privacy settings could not be changed. But since then, Facebook fixed the problem. Facebook’s spokesperson said in a statement that:

“Earlier this week a team of security researchers described a theoretical flaw in our user interface; users have been previously unable to unfriend deactivated accounts. We quickly worked to resolve this issue, and were able to deploy a modification to our UI within 48 hours of receiving these reports.”

However, Facebook is said to be unhappy how someone else detected such a loophole in their system and then published a paper on their findings. Because once the researchers’ report was published it had already become public, but Facebook preferred to be informed privately about the matter. It is still unknown what technically Facebook did to cover up the loophole and fix it finally. But now Facebook users can unfriend deactivated users which will allow their friendship connections not to be abused.

Buy Cheapest Related Product From Amazon.com


Opscode, The Cloud Infrastructure Automation Startup, Bags $19.5 Million In Funding

1984 Macintosh 128K Computer For Sale On eBay
You can also press the left/right arrow key on your keyboard to go to previous/next post
  On March 27, 2012(2 years, 8 months ago.)

Recent Products

Buy Now | Compare  
Buy Now | Compare  
Buy Now | Compare  
Buy Now | Compare  
Compare  

What Do You Think?

Loading Disqus Comments ...
Loading Facebook Comments ...

Recent Search

Recent Tutorials

Many users are already complaining and searching for the tips of how to capture the screenshot on LG G3. The tutorial will help to do that.
The tutorial will help how you can minimize the mobile data on your android device (Here we used LG G3 S for the tutorial)
The tutorial will help you to turn on battery Saver for LG G3 or G3 S both manually and automatically.
This tutorial is about how you can set up various auto reply messages on LG G3 S tp know the caller why you could not answer the call.
This tutorial is about disabling automatic shortcut creation of new installed app on android devices.
This tutorial is about showing you how to turn off location in Facebook of your Android devices.
My tutorial is for those who wants to delete those history partially or fully or to disable those if they want.
This tutorial will show you how to stop those videos in your Android mobile not to play automatically.
This tutorial will help you to Disable Auto-Update Of Android Apps in your Android Device. The steps are quite easy to execute.
This tutorial will help you to clear search history from your Google Play Store in your Android Device. The steps are quite easy to execute.
Close You Have To Login
User:
Pass:
Login With »Login With TwitterLogin With Facebook