Technological News Portal

Facebook Rolls Out Shared Photo Albums

Facebook has ramped up its photo-sharing features, offering the new shared photo albums. The new feature essentially lets multiple users upload photos to a single album while the owner of the album can tweak privacy settings to see who can view these pictures.


Facebook shared photo albums

The key control of privacy settings of a shared photo album lies with the creator of the album. The creator can decide who he wants to add as a contributor. In all, he can add as much as 50 contributors for now, with each contributor allowed to chip in with a maximum of 200 photos.

The shared album creator can also hand out more control to the contributors so that these contributors can, in turn, add more people to the album. In this way, the feature can be especially useful when aggregating photos for a campaign, allowing multiple individuals to contribute in real time.

When you create a shared album, you are presented with three privacy settings: public, friends of contributors and contributors only. This lets the album creator decide exactly what kind of people and how many people get to view the shared album. Moreover, although the album creator will have rights to delete or modify any photos uploaded to the album, the contributors will have editing control over the photos they upload.

According to Bob Baldwin, software engineer at Facebook and among the leading developers of the new feature, “Right now, if you were at a party and there were three different albums created, you might not be able to see all the photos [based on privacy settings], which is kind of confusing and frustrating.”

In all, the feature is very promising. It can especially be put to an excellent use by different brands for better advertising, marketing and campaigns.

Courtesy: Mashable

[ttjad keyword=”ipad”]

You might also like
Why Not Join 250,000+ Readers, Like You!
AND GET OUR LATEST CONTENT IN YOUR INBOX

SUBSCRIBE 
Your information will never be shared
close-link